Find out How to Avoid Paying Double for your Metal Roof

What is Florida's Construction Lien Law?

Thinking about having a new metal roof put on your home? Well if you are, there are some safeguards that you can take to protect your home from being sold against your will when the metal roofing contractor that you hired fails to pay their material suppliers Is this really possible? Absolutely. You see Florida has what is called the Construction Lien Law. What the construction lien law does is it protects material suppliers and even sub-contractors from not getting paid. Believe it or not, there are some, not all, roofing contractors that will accept payment from you for the roof that they put on your house and never pay for some or all of the materials. This happens sometimes when roofing contractors get behind on their bills and so in order from them to catch up they will buy materials from somebody other than their primary supplier and then stiff them with not paying for the materials. The good news is there is a way to protect yourself.

How to protect yourself against a Lien

There are a couple of things you can do to protect yourself against a lien. This only pertains to you if you hire a contractor and the improvements cost more than $2500, which if you are getting a new metal roof will almost certainly pertain to you.

  • Always make sure a Notice of Commencement is filed before starting your metal roof. The local building department has these and your contractor should have you sign one before work is started. The Notice of Commencement must be recorded with the Clerk of Court of the county where your property is located that is having the metal roof performed. The Notice of Commencement is a document that has important information about the scope of work that is going to be performed on your house, who owns the house, the contractor, and other pertinent information.
  • Post the Notice of Commencement at your home where the new metal roof is being put on.
  • Request from your metal roofing contractor a list of all material suppliers and sub-contractors that they are going to use when installing your new metal roof. A material supplier or subcontractor must send you a Notice to Owner within 45 days of the job commencing or before final payment to the your contractor in order to enforce a lien.
  • Before you make any payments to your contractor, get a partial release of lien from the material suppliers or sub-contractors for materials or labor used so far.
  • Before you make your final payment to your contractor, make sure your contractor provides you releases of liens from the remaining material suppliers and labor they used.

If you do all these things, you will be eliminating the chance that you would pay double for your metal roof.